Those who want to work as contractors in Utah need to satisfy the requirements laid down by the state’s Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL). Getting a contractor’s license is mandatory, as contracting without one is a violation of the law. This offense is a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by a jail term and a hefty fine.
The Process of Obtaining a Contractor’s License
Here are the steps to securing a contractor’s license in Utah:
- Identify your business category to determine the type of contractor license you need.
- Satisfy the initial requirements. You have to be at least 18 years old and have a minimum of two years of full-time related work experience within the last decade.
- Take the license exam.
- Complete business requirements, such as getting an Employer Identification Number (EIN) registering with the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) and the Utah State Tax Commission, respectively.
- Meet financial requirements, such as securing a Utah Contractor’s Bond and liability insurance.
- Complete the License Application Form.
- Pay the license fee of $405 ($195 for the cost of the initial assessment and $210 for the first licensure classification).
- Submit all documentary requirements to DOPL.
License Application Requirements
This form has multiple sections. You need to provide:
Additional Requirements for Contractors with Employees
You need to satisfy the following requirements if you have people working for you:
Meeting the Educational Requirements
Utah requires contractors to satisfy a couple of educational requirements. These are:
Helping You Get Your Contractor’s License
The Utah Home Builders Association offers 25-hour pre-licensure courses to help you meet the educational requirements of a contractor’s license. You can take this course in one of our three locations: Salt Lake City, Ogden and St. George. You also have the option to attend class during the day (Wednesday to Friday, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.) or at night (Monday to Friday, 5 to 10 p.m.).
By completing our pre-licensure course, you will be one step closer to becoming a contractor. Register today. Call (801) 352-8266.